Merriweather Post Pavilion by Animal Collective

Jump to Main

Merriweather Post Pavilion by Animal Collective

Metro People |
An Appetizer
The Plug

An Unparalleled Collection of Psychedelic Perfection

Animal Collective is the experimental pop band made up of Avey Tare (David Portner), Panda Bear (Noah Lennox), Deakin (Josh Dibb), and Geologist (Brian Weitz); all of whom have they're own solo projects apart from AmCo. Their many albums explore an absolutely one of a kind blend of freak folk, noise rock, psychedelia, and ambient pop. Or in more intelligible words: a sound similar to fast-forward flowers careening like sugar grains down a never-ending hummingbird-waterslide.

Animal Collective's eighth studio album, Merriweather Post Pavilion, debuted in January 2009 and has been their most consistently and ceaselessly lauded composition: joyous, transcendent, trippy, yet accessibly pop. For MPP I can actually understand the often cited Beach Boy comparison. Give it a chance. Maybe a few. It'll be worth it.

Thanks, Tylar.

Back to Music and Listening